The 40 Things List

So, here it is! This is the definitive list of forty things I would like to achieve before my 40th birthday. This list is a real mix of things I have never done alongside things I have done in my past which I would like to do again.

With my 40th birthday falling in November 2019, I have just over two years to complete. Wish me luck!

  1. Have a bonfire on the beach
  2. Watch the sun set whilst sat on a cliff overlooking the sea
  3. Visit a European city
  4. Stay out until the sun comes up
  5. Visit Alnwick Castle
  6. See a golden eagle in the wild
  7. Do a ghost walk in York
  8. Visit the Natural History Museum
  9. Learn a new language – at least to a point that I can ask general questions and hold a simple conversation
  10. Learn to sing (or at least do a decent-ish karaoke)
  11. Go sea fishing
  12. Own a giant foam hand
  13. Read, or re-read, at least 5 literary ‘classics’. I am using the Guardians top 100 greatest novels as a guide: https://www.theguardian.com/books/2003/oct/12/features.fiction
  14. Eat a food that I have never tried before
  15. Try falconry
  16. Shoot a bow and arrow
  17. Swim in the ocean
  18. Hold a combined Halloween/birthday/Guy Fawkes party (my 40th birthday perhaps?)
  19. Grow a fruit or vegetable from seed (that I haven’t grown before, so sorry chilli and tomato) and cook a meal for others with it
  20. Walk/dance barefoot in the rain – no umbrella allowed!!
  21. Get up early and experience the dawn chorus
  22. Visit Land’s End
  23. Spend the night at a haunted house
  24. Be part of a studio audience
  25. Make a Christmas wreath from natural materials
  26. Go on a protest march for a cause/campaign I believe in
  27. Go dolphin or whale or shark (even better, all three!) watching
  28. Build a blanket fort and spend the night in it
  29. See the Northern Lights
  30. Walk in woods carpeted with bluebells
  31. Take my parents out to the theatre
  32. Do an escape room challenge
  33. Speak, or perform, in front of an audience
  34. Make homebrew
  35. Knit something
  36. Camp
  37. Spend New Year somewhere that isn’t my home town
  38. Eat a hotdog at a travelling fun fair
  39. Meet someone famous
  40. Keep a progress diary on ’40 Things Before 40′ (that’ll be this very blog!)

 

I will also pin this list to the menu, so I get a constant reminder of my dreams 🙂

 

4 thoughts on “The 40 Things List

Add yours

  1. I think I may need to hold fire on that until next spring now – but I do have a few ideas of what I can do during the cooler months. I will be posting all my progress here :0)

    Like

Leave a comment

Website Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑